Unlicensed Driver Tickets in New Jersey
Experienced NJ Traffic Offense Lawyers
The Moriarty family has been fighting traffic related offenses throughout New Jersey for over 40 years. We know the local courts, prosecutors and judges you will be dealing with. This goes a long way toward successfully defending your rights. Having a lawyer who knows the system and the players is critical in the fight to defend your case.
Call us, 24 hours a day, at 732-842-7773. You can also contact us by e-mail and we will reply as soon as possible to schedule a free initial consultation.
Understanding Your Unlicensed Driver ticket!
The Moriarty Law Firm has been representing individuals charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), leaving the scene of an accident, driving without insurance, and driving with a suspended license throughout New Jersey including in Red Bank, Middletown, Toms River, Sayreville, and Long Branch for over 40 years. Call us today at (732)842-7773 to set up your free consultation and discuss your case..
New Jersey Unlicensed Driver Ticket: N.J.S.A. 39:3-10
The New Jersey statute which governs an unlicensed driver offense is N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 which provides in pertinent part:
§ 39:3-10. Licensing of drivers; classifications [Effective until May 1, 2010]
No person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State unless the person is under supervision while participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course pursuant to section 6 of P.L.1977, c.25 or is in possession of a validated permit, or a provisional or basic driver’s license issued to him in accordance with this article.
A person violating this section shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $ 500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 60 days, but if that person has never been licensed to drive in this State or any other jurisdiction, he shall be subject to a fine of not less than $ 200 and, in addition, the court shall issue an order to the commission requiring the commission to refuse to issue a license to operate a motor vehicle to the person for a period of not less than 180 days. The penalties provided for by this paragraph shall not be applicable in cases where failure to have actual possession of the operator’s license is due to an administrative or technical error by the commission.
Penalties for Unlicensed Driver in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, a defendant convicted of being an unlicensed driver can be sentenced to up to sixty (60) days in jail. Also, the defendant may be fined up to $500. Further, if the individual has never been licensed to drive in this State or any other State, the individual may not apply for a license for 180 days following the conviction.
We Handle All Types of Criminal and Traffic Charges
Criminal charges can be brought in either the Municipal or Superior court. The more severe the criminal charges the more likely they are to be handled in Superior Court, while minor charges are typically resolved in Municipal Court. We have a well deserved reputation for being the best in both arenas.
The severity of your charges is a determination made by the State and is usually based on a variety of factors. Penalties will vary based on the degree of the crime and whether or not there was a criminal conspiracy involved.
Call 732-842-7773 to speak with one of the Moriartys 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to discuss your charges or you can contact us by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.