Armed Robbery Defense Lawyers in New Jersey

The criminal defense attorneys at the Moriarty Law Firm have spent decades defending individuals charged with armed robbery, aggravated assault, drug possession and distribution, and driving while intoxicated (DWI) throughout New Jersey.  Our lawyers have handled all levels of criminal matters all over New Jersey.  Our firm founder, Charles Moriarty is one of only a handful of attorneys in New Jersey who has been certified by the Supreme Court as both a civil and criminal trial expert. Please contact our office for a free initial consultation..

If you are facing armed robbery charges, you can speak with a lawyer at our firm 24 hours a day by calling 732-842-7773. You can also contact us by e-mail.  We look forward to helping you defeat your armed robbery charges.

Know the charges you are facing!  Armed Robbery in New Jersey is defined as follows:

New Jersey Robbery Charges: N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1

§ 2C:15-1. Robbery

a. Robbery defined. A person is guilty of robbery if, in the course of committing a theft, he:

(1) Inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another; or

(2) Threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily injury; or

(3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.

An act shall be deemed to be included in the phrase “in the course of committing a theft” if it occurs in an attempt to commit theft or in immediate flight after the attempt or commission.

b. Grading. Robbery is a crime of the second degree, except that it is a crime of the first degree if in the course of committing the theft the actor attempts to kill anyone, or purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury, or is armed with, or uses or threatens the immediate use of a deadly weapon.

Penalties for Robbery in New Jersey

As you can see from the statute above, the State must prove the use of force or threats during the course of a theft. Generally, robbery is a crime of the second degree. However, robbery can be graded as a first degree crime if the suspect uses a weapon or threatens the use of a weapon, attempts to kill someone, or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury. The penalties associated with these offenses are severe and include years in prison. Having the Moriarty family on your side is the best way to present a proper defense to these types of charges..

Few Charges are more serious than a Weapon Charge in New Jersey!

Weapons charges in New Jersey are very serious. Firearms offenses can lead to years in prison. Even Unlawful Possession of a Weapon charge carries significant jail time in New Jersey. You would have to serve years of jail time before you would even be eligible for parole.  We have built a rock solid reputation of successfully defending clients on weapons charges throughout New Jersey, call us and find out why we are considered the best at what we do.

If you are facing charges related to the illegal possession of a weapon or firearm, you can call our offices 24 hours a day to speak with an attorney. Call 732-842-7773 or contact us by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.